Saturday, November 17, 2007

China Badminton Open Is Coming

The China Badminton Open will be held in Guangzhou, China next week. All the top players are going there for more credits of Olympic qualification. According to the draws given, many wonderful matches will be presented to the badminton fans.

For Chinese badminton players, it is a very good opportunity to adopt themselves to the home field as Beijing Olympic Games will be coming next year. For the players from other countries, it’s also a good chance to feel China.

I could not write an article better than CHINA OPEN Mouth-watering Starters.

Who do you think will be the titles of China Badminton Open? Here I give statistics about the champions of China Open in recent years as your reference.

1. Men’s Singles

Year Gold Silver
2001 Xia Xuanze Wong Choong Hann
2002 Wong Choong Hann Chen Hong
2003 Lin Dan Wong Choong Hann
2004 Lin Dan Bao Chunlai
2005 Chen Hong Bao Chunlai
2006 Chen Hong Bao Chunlai

2. Women’s Singles

Year Gold Silver
2001 Zhou Mi Gong Ruina
2002 Gong Ruina Zhang Ning
2003 Zhou Mi Gong Ruina
2004 Xie Xingfang Wang Chen
2005 Zhang Ning Xie Xingfang
2006 Zhang Ning Yao Jie

3. Men’s Doubles

Year Gold Silver
2001 Zhang Wei/Zhang Jun Liu Yong/Chen Qiqiu
2002 Feerawiwatana Pramote/Panviavas Tesna(Tailand) Chen Choon Eng/Chan Chong Ming
2003 Paaske/Rasmussen Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah
2004 Wijaya Candra/S. Budiarto Chen Choon Eng/Choog Tan Fook
2005 Wijaya Candra/S. Budiarto Eriksen Jens/Lundgaard Hansen Martin
2006 Markis Kido/Hendra Setiawan Cai Yun/Fu Haifeng

4. Women’s Doubles

Year Gold Silver
2001 Zhang Jiewen/Wei Yili Huang Nanyan/Yang Wei
2002 Gao Ling/Huang Sui Wei Yili/Zhao Tingting
2003 Gao Ling/Huang Sui Yang Wei/Zhang Jiewen
2004 Yang Wei/Zhang Jiewen Wei Yili/Zhao Tingting
2005 Yang Wei/Zhang Jiewen Gao Ling/Huang Sui
2006 Yang Wei/Zhang Jiewen Wei Yili/Zhang Yawen

5. Mixed Doubles

Year Gold Silver
2001 Liu Yong/Ge Fei R.Olsen/Sogaard
2002 Zhang Jun/Gao Ling Chen Qiqiu/Zhao Tingting
2003 Zhang Jun/Gao Ling Chen Qiqiu/Zhao Tingting
2004 Jens Eriksen/Schjoldager Mette Chen Qiqiu/Zhao Tingting
2005 Robertson Nathan/Emms Gail Lee Jae Jin/Lee Hyo Jung
2006 Xie Zhongbo/Zhang Yawen Xu Chen/Zhao Tingting

My prediction is as follows:

MS champion: Lee Chong Wei (he is in such a good shape this year)
WS champion: Xie Xingfang (Guangzhou is her hometown. Ha ha)
Men’s Double champion: Koo Kien Keat/Tan Boon Heong
WD champion: Zhang Yawen/Wei Yili
Mixed Double champion: Zheng Bo/Gao Ling

What’s your conclusion? With your analysis and emotions you could have a totally different answer from me.

Comment on the chatter box.

Copyright © 2007- 2008, All Rights Reserved.